Component-based Engineering
for Embedded Systems
USA - EU Workshop
July 7th, 2005 - Paris
Organisers: Joseph Sifakis (VERIMAG and ARTIST2 NoE) and
Janos Sztipanovits (Vanderbilt University - ISIS)

All slides from the workshop are provided in the links below.

This workshop was by invitation only.

The aim is to gather together leading researchers from academia and industry, to discuss research challenges and emerging industrial trends on component-based engineering. The ultimate goal is to identify complementarities and synergies in standardization to respond to the needs for a more cross-sectoral approach to embedded systems.

Part I

Industrial Needs and Projects
Don Winter - Director, Network Centric Operations; Boeing Phantom Works
"Embedded Systems Challenges at Boeing"
Don Wilson - Senior Fellow, Raytheon Co.
"Industry Challenges in Embedded Systems Software Development"
Steve Vestal - Fellow, Honeywell Labs
"Models, Abstractions and Architectures in Component-Based Engineering"
Gert Döhmen - Airbus
"Processes and Methods for Integrated Modular Avionics"
David Lesens - EADS Space Transportation
"Code Generation and Simulation from Heterogeneous Models"
Véronique Normand (replacing Serge Salicki) - Architecture & Engineering Department,
Thalès Research and Technology Software Research Group
"Model Driven Engineering and solutions for Software Intensive Systems"

Part II

Position Statements

Part III

Discussion and Synthesis

Panel members:

  • David Corman - Technical Fellow, Boeing
  • Dominique Potier - Scientific Director for Software Technologies, Thalès
  • Joseph Sifakis - Director, Verimag Laboratory and ARTIST2 Scientific Coordinator
  • Janos Sztipanovits - Distinguished Professor at Vanderbilt University, Director of Institute for Software Integrated Systems
  • Michael Winokur - Corporate R&D and Business Development Manager of Embedded Computer Systems at Israel Aircraft Industries
Transatlantic Research Agenda
on Future Challenges in Embedded Systems Design
IST - NSF Workshop
July 8th, 2005    Paris

Organisers: Helen Gill (National Science Foundation), Alkis Konstantellos (European Commission), Shankar Sastry (UC Berkeley), Joseph Sifakis (VERIMAG and ARTIST2 NoE), Janos Sztipanovits (Vanderbilt University - ISIS), Mateo Valero (Technical University of Catalonia) 

All slides from the workshop are provided in the links below.


Part I

Towards a Joint IST-NSF Research Agenda in Embedded Systems Design
US Keynote Presentation Helen Gill
NSF - Computer and Network Systems Division, Program Director  
EU Keynote Presentation Kostas Glinos
European Commission - IST, Embedded Systems Unit Head

Collaborating Projects :
Early Experiences and Assessment of EU-US Collaboration
Co-chairs: Alkis Konstantellos and Helen Gill
Hipeac  - Rutgers, Princeton
Olivier Temam (IRISA), Nacho Navarro (UPC),
Liviu Iftode (Rutgers University), Margaret Martonosi (Princeton University)
DECOS - University of California, Irvine / Vanderbilt University
Roman Obermaisser (TU Vienna)
RUNES - Berkeley, Caltech
András Tóth (Ericsson)
ARTIST/ARTIST2 – Berkeley/Vanderbilt University
Joseph Sifakis (Verimag&Artist) / Janos Sztipanovits (ISIS-Vanderbilt)
Claire Tomlin (Stanford University & Chess-Berkeley),
Mary Margaret Sprinkle (Chess-Berkeley: The Trust Project)
Part II

Views on Challenging Topics / Priorities

Security: Catherine Meadows, Head of the Formal Methods Section - Center for High Assurance Computer Systems - Naval Research Laboratory
"Computer Security: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly"
Component-based Design: Joseph Sifakis, Scientific Coordinator of the Artist2 NoE, and Director of Verimag Lab
"Directions in Component-based Design"
Networked Embedded Systems: Margaret Martonosi (Princeton University), "Networked Embedded Systems and the ZebraNet Project:  Experiences and Challenges"
Mechanisms for EU-USA International Collaboration:
Helen Gill (NSF), Alkis Konstantellos (European Commission)
Discussion (chaired by Janos Sztipanovits)

Part III

Thematic and Organisational issues
Means for Synchronisation, Announcement, Evaluation
Chair: Bruno Bouyssounouse (Verimag)

Informal synthesis by Tariq Samad (Honeywell) and Brian Krogh (CMU)